

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Date: 15 January 2015 Issued by: Governor's Office Contact: Deborah Bodden, Manager, Commissions Secretariat (Deborah.Bodden@gov.ky Tel - 244 3687)

Appointment of Justices to the Cayman Islands Court of Appeal

Her Excellency the Governor, Helen Kilpatrick, CB is pleased to announce the appointments of Sir Richard Field, Justice (Cecil) Dennis Morrison, Sir Alan Moses, and Sir John Goldring to the Cayman Islands Court of Appeal.

Throughout July and August 2014, the Judicial and Legal Services Commission carried out an open recruitment process advertising the post locally and overseas. Following a short-listing process, an interview panel interviewed six persons for this post; ultimately recommending Sir Richard Field, Justice (Cecil) Dennis Morrison, Sir Alan Moses and Sir John Goldring as the successful candidates. Her Excellency accepted the recommendations to appoint the Justices to the Court of Appeal.

"It is my privilege to appoint these individuals as Justices in the Cayman Islands" the Governor said. "Their skills, experiences and breadth of knowledge will undoubtedly enhance the already outstanding calibre of Justices previously appointed to the Court of Appeal" she continued.

Notes for Editors:

Sir Richard Field retired as a High Court Judge in the Royal Courts of Justice, London in September 2014, a post he held since 2002. During his tenure on the Bench Sir Richard had responsibility for the Commercial Court and was Presiding Judge on the Western Circuit. Prior to being appointed to the Bench Sir Richard practised at the Bar in London for over twenty years and taught law for almost eight years. He has appeared in the Cayman Islands Courts as a Queen's Counsel on previous occasions. Sir Richard was appointed Queen's Counsel in 1987. His appointment begins on 1 April 2015 for a five year period.

Justice Dennis Morrison currently serves as a Judge of Appeal in the Jamaican Court of Appeal a position he has held since 2008. Justice Morrison will retire as a Judge of Appeal in the Belizean Court of Appeal, a position he has held since 2004, at the end of March 2015. Prior to being appointed to the Bench, he practised at the Bar in Jamaica for over twenty-five years, prior to which he taught law full-time at the Norman Manley Law School in Kingston. He continues to serve as an associate tutor at the law school. During his practice, Justice Morrison also appeared from time to time in various Caribbean Courts, including the Cayman Islands and was appointed Queen's Counsel in 1994. Justice Morrison's appointment begins on 1 June 2015 for a period of five years.

Sir Alan Moses retired as Lord Justice of Appeal in the Royal Courts of Justice, London in June 2014, a post he held from 2005. Prior to that appointment Sir Alan served as a High Court Judge from 1996-2005. Sir Alan has previously served as an Acting Grand Court Judge in the Cayman Islands. He was appointed Queen's Counsel in 1990 and currently serves as the first Chairman of the new UK press regulator the Independent Press Standards Organisation. Sir Alan's appointment begins on 1 October 2015 for a 5 year term.

Sir John Goldring currently serves as an Assistant Coroner for South Yorkshire (East) and West Yorkshire (West) conducting the fresh inquests into those who died as a result of the Hillsborough disaster. He was appointed Queen's Counsel in 1987 and elected a Bencher in 1996. He was appointed a Recorder in 1987, a Deputy Senior Judge, Sovereign Base Areas, Cyprus from 1991 to 1999, a Deputy High Court Judge in 1996 and a Judge of the Courts of Appeal of Jersey and Guernsey in 1998. He was appointed a High Court Judge (Queen's Bench Division) in 1999; he served as a Presiding Judge for the Midland Circuit from 2002 to 2005 and Commissioner for the Judicial Appointments Commission from 2006 to 2008. He became a Lord Justice of Appeal in 2008, Deputy Senior Presiding Judge of England and Wales from 2008 to 2009 and Senior Presiding Judge of England and Wales from 2010 to 2012. His appointment begins on 1 July 2016 for a 5 year term.

The Cayman Islands Court of Appeal as constituted comprises of:

The Right Honourable Sir John Chadwick (President) Elliott Mottley (term expires 30 June 2015) The Right Honourable Sir Bernard Rix The Honourable Sir George Newman John Martin, QC The Honourable Sir Richard Field Justice (Cecil) Dennis Morrison The Right Honourable Sir Alan Moses The Right Honourable Sir John Goldring